What are UK bank holidays?

Keep calm and enjoy UK bank holidays.

UK bank holidays are a well-loved cultural institution, but it’s strange that an entire country shuts down when the bank has a day off. A bank holiday is basically the same as a public holiday or a religious holiday. Workplaces will close for the day in order to celebrate something or mark an occasion.

It is called a bank holiday because originally the banks would close. Every other business would be unable to operate without the banks, so they would close too.

Bank holidays and public holidays in 2019:

New Year’s Day1 January
New Year Holiday2 JanuaryOnly a public holiday in Scotland
St Patrick’s Day18 MarchOnly a public holiday in Northern Ireland
Good Friday19 April
Easter Monday22 AprilThis isn’t a public holiday in Scotland
May Day Bank Holiday6 May
Spring Bank Holiday27 May
Battle of the Boyne / Orangemen’s Day12 JulyOnly a public holiday in Northern Ireland
Summer Bank Holiday26 AugustIn Scotland this holiday is celebrated on the first Monday in August
St Andrew’s Day2 DecemberOnly a public holiday in Scotland
Christmas Day25 December
Boxing Day26 December

If you live in Scotland you get an additional bank holiday on 30th Nov in remembrance of St Andrew, the Patron Saint of Scotland. The same goes for Northern Ireland on 17th March to celebrate St Patrick as well as 12th July to mark the Battle of Boyne.

St David’s Day in Wales and St George’s Day in England are not marked with a bank holiday.